Skip to main content

Will County Forest Preserves Honor Volunteers of the Year

Forest Preserve District of Will County 2021 Award Winners.

Forest Preserve District of Will County 2021 Award Winners. Photo credit Glenn P. Knoblock

Mark Bettin, of Mokena, and Scott Mortenson, of Oak Park, were named 2021 Volunteers of the Year by the Forest Preserve District of Will County at the annual volunteer banquet on April 26. To earn the top award, they worked collaboratively in their outreach efforts in organizing groups, supporting other stewards and inviting corporations to participate in natural resource management opportunities.

Winners in other categories were: Special Acts, Jim Avila, Shorewood; Outstanding Group, Deer Management Team; Outstanding Family, Dave and Marie Wendt, Joliet; Outstanding Youth, Nicole Lomax, Park Forest; Outstanding Senior, Sally Wieclaw, New Lenox; and Rookie of the Year, Ryan Sorrells, Plainfield. In 2021, 576 volunteers donated more than 9,100 hours of service to the district, which allowed the Forest Preserve to accomplish much more than it could have without their diligent efforts.

For more information on volunteer opportunities, visit the Volunteer Page at